Welcome to Adobe GoLive 6
University Registrar Virginia Tech

2009-2010 Undergraduate Course Catalog & Academic Policies

Academic Calendars Colleges & Course Descriptions Governance, Administration & Faculty
Academic Policies Financial Information Publication Information
Admissions Information General Information University Academic Advising Center

Governance, Administration and Faculty


John R. Lawson, II, Rector
George Nolen,
Vice Rector
Kim O'Rourke, Secretary
(Appointed by the Governor to terms expiring on dates indicated)

ex officio: Paul W. Rogers, Jr.
Michael Anzilotti (2003-11)
Frederick J. Cobb (2008-12)
Beverley Dalton (2004-12)
Ben J. Davenport, Jr. (2002-10)
Michele L. Duke (2005-13)
Douglas R. Fahl (2008-12)

Calvin D. Jamison, Sr. (2008-12)
John R. Lawson, II (2002-10)
Sandra Stiner Lowe (2003-11)
George Nolen (2005-13)
James W. Severt, Sr. (2003-11)
James R. Smith (2006-10)
Lori L. Wagner (2006-10)


Charles W. Steger
Mark G. McNamee
Senior Vice President and Provost
Raymond D. Smoot
University Treasurer; Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia Tech Foundation
Earving L. Blythe
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
James R. Bohland
Vice President and Executive Director of National Capital Region Operations
John E. Dooley
Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs
Elizabeth A. Flanagan
Vice President for Development and University Relations
Daniel A. Wubah
Vice President and Dean for Undergraduate Education
Edward Spencer
Vice President for Student Affairs
Kevin G. McDonald
Vice President for Equity and Inclusion
M. Dwight Shelton
Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Thomas C. Tillar, Jr.
Vice President for Alumni Relations
Robert Walters
Vice President for Research
Sherwood Wilson
Vice President for Administrative Services
Richard Benson
Dean, College of Engineering
Lay Nam Chang
Dean, College of Science
A. Jack Davis
Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Karen P. DePauw
Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education
Eileen E. Hitchingham
Dean, University Libraries
Paul Winistorfer
Dean, College of Natural Resources
Alan Grant
Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Sue Ott Rowlands
Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Gerhardt G. Schurig
Dean, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
Richard E. Sorensen
Dean, Pamplin College of Business
T. Marshall Hahn, Jr.
President Emeritus
Paul E. Torgersen
President Emeritus


A-B | C-D | E-G | H-K | L-R | S-Z | Emeriti
  • The university employs over 4,700 faculty and staff at the Blacksburg campus and many more in support of university programs throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
  • Listings include (with very few exceptions) collegiate faculty members and administrators at the director level and above. Please note that in an effort to focus on academics and on student interests and services, many staff essential to the operation of the university are not listed.
Faculty Honors (2000 to present) (1957 to 1999)
Search Catalog
Virginia Tech 2009-2010 Undergraduate Course Catalog and Academic Policies