Welcome to Adobe GoLive 6
Virginia Tech

2007-2008 Undergraduate Course Catalog & Academic Policies

Academic Calendars Colleges & Course Descriptions Governance, Administration & Faculty
Academic Policies Financial Information Publication Information
Admissions Information General Information University Academic Advising Center

Governance, Administration and Faculty


Jacob A. Lutz, III, Rector
John R. Lawson, II,
Vice Rector
Kim O'Rourke, Secretary
(Appointed by the Governor to terms expiring on dates indicated)

ex officio: L. Bruce Holland
Michael Anzilotti (2003-11)
Beverley Dalton (2004-08)
Ben J. Davenport, Jr. (2002-10)
Michelle L. Duke (2005-09)
Robert L. Freeman, Jr. (2004-08)
John R. Lawson, II (2002-10)

Sandra Stiner Lowe (2003-11)
Jacob A. Lutz, III (2000-08)
George Nolen (2005-09)
James W. Severt, Sr. (2003-11)
James R. Smith (2006-10)
Philip S. Thompson (2000-08)
Lori L. Wagner (2006-10)


Charles W. Steger
Mark G. McNamee
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
James A. Hyatt
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Raymond D. Smoot
University Treasurer; Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia Tech Foundation
Earving L. Blythe
Vice President for Information Technology
James R. Bohland
Vice President and Executive Director of National Capital Region Operations
John E. Dooley
Vice Provost for Outreach and International Affairs
Elizabeth A. Flanagan
Vice President for Development and University Relations
David R. Ford
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Zenobia Hikes
Vice President for Student Affairs
Kevin G. McDonald
Vice President for Multicultural Affairs
Dwight Shelton
Vice President for Budget and Financial Management
Thomas C. Tillar, Jr.
Vice President for Alumni Relations
Robert Walters
Vice President for Research
Sherwood Wilson
Vice President for Administrative Services
Richard Benson
Dean, College of Engineering
Lay Nam Chang
Dean, College of Science
A. Jack Davis
Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Karen P. DePauw
Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Dean, Graduate School
Eileen E. Hitchingham
Dean, University Libraries
J. Michael Kelly
Dean, College of Natural Resources
Sharron Quisenberry
Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Sue Ott Rowlands
Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Gerhardt G. Schurig
Dean, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
Richard E. Sorensen
Dean, Pamplin College of Business
T. Marshall Hahn, Jr.
President Emeritus
William E. Lavery
President Emeritus
Paul E. Torgersen
President Emeritus


A-B | C-D | E-G | H-K | L-R | S-Z | Emeriti
  • The university employs over 4,700 faculty and staff at the Blacksburg campus and many more in support of university programs throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
  • Listings include (with very few exceptions) collegiate faculty members and administrators at the director level and above. Please note that in an effort to focus on academics and on student interests and services, many staff essential to the operation of the university are not listed.
Faculty Honors (2000 to present) (1957 to 1999)
Search Catalog
Virginia Tech 2007-08 Undergraduate Course Catalog and Academic Policies