Welcome to Adobe GoLive 6
Virginia Tech University Registrar

2015-2016 Undergraduate Course Catalog & Academic Policies

Academic Calendars Colleges & Course Descriptions Governance, Administration & Faculty
Academic Policies Financial Information Publication Information
Admissions Information General Information University Academic Advising Center

Governance, Administration and Faculty



Deborah L. Petrine, Rector
James L. Chapman, VI , Vice Rector
Kim O'Rourke, Secretary

(Appointed by the Governor to terms expiring on dates indicated)

ex officio:  Steve W. Sturgis

James L. Chapman, VI
Nancy V. Dye (2012-16)
William D. Fairchild, III (2012-16)
Cordel L. Faulk (2011-15)
B. Keith Fulton (2012-16)
John C. Lee, IV (2011-15)

Deborah L. Petrine (2011-15)
Michael J. Quillen (2014-18)
Wayne H. Robinson (2014-18)
J. Thomas Ryan (2013-17)
Mehul P. Sanghani (2014-18)
Dennis H. Treacy (2012-16)
Horacio A. Valeiras (2014-18)


Timothy D. Sands
Mark G. McNamee
Senior Vice President and Provost
John E. Dooley
Chief Executive Officer of the Virginia Tech Foundation
Scott Midkiff
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Steven H. McKnight
Vice President and Executive Director of National Capital Region Operations
Guru Ghosh
Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs
Elizabeth A. Flanagan
Vice President for Development and University Relations
Patricia Perillo
Vice President for Student Affairs
M. Dwight Shelton, Jr.
Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Thomas C. Tillar, Jr.
Sr. Vice President for Alumni Advancement
Dennis Dean
Interim Vice President for Research & Innovation
Sherwood Wilson
Vice President for Administration

Richard Benson
Dean, College of Engineering
Lay Nam Chang
Dean, College of Science
A. Jack Davis
Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Karen P. DePauw
Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education
Tyler Walters
Dean, University Libraries
Paul Winistorfer
Dean, College of Natural Resources
Alan Grant
Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Elizabeth Spiller
Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Cyril Clarke
Dean, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
Robert Sumichrast
Dean, Pamplin College of Business
T. Marshall Hahn, Jr.
President Emeritus
Charles W. Steger, Jr.
President Emeritus
Paul E. Torgersen
President Emeritus


A-B | C-D | E-G | H-K | L-R | S-Z | Emeriti
  • The university employs over 4,700 faculty and staff at the Blacksburg campus and many more in support of university programs throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
  • Listings include (with very few exceptions) collegiate faculty members and administrators at the director level and above. Please note that in an effort to focus on academics and on student interests and services, many staff essential to the operation of the university are not listed.
Faculty Honors (2000 to present) (1957 to 1999)
Search Catalog
Virginia Tech 2015-2016 Undergraduate Course Catalog and Academic Policies